Michigan State Spartans men’s basketball

The Michigan State Spartans men’s basketball Staff represents Michigan State University (MSU) and compete at the Big Ten Conference of NCAA Division I College basketball.

Their home games are played at the Breslin Student Events Center. Tom Izzo has been the head coach since 1995. The Spartans have won two NCAA championships and 15 Big Ten Conference Championships. Their two National Championships came from the 1979 NCAA Tournament and also the 2000 NCAA Tournament. The 1979 National Championship Game was the most watched college baseball game in history, with 35.11 million tv viewers. [2] The 1979 National Championship team was coached by Jud Heathcote and included tournament MVP Magic Johnson, Greg Kelser and Jay Vincent. The Spartans defeated the Indiana State Sycamores. The Florida Gators men’s basketball team was defeated by the 2000 National Championship team . The team has been coached by Tom Izzo and led by players championship MVP Mateen Cleaves, Charlie Bell, Jason Richardson and Morris Peterson.
The Spartans have engaged in 33 NCAA tournaments and in 22 consecutive NCAA tournaments (1998–2019), the fourth-longest streak in history and third-longest active streak in college basketball, supporting Kansas (29) and Duke (23). [3] Michigan State has the sixth most all-time Final Four appearances with ten (1957, 1979, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2005, 2009, 2010, 2015, and 2019). The program is also ninth all-time in NCAA tournament winning percentage (.677, through 2018).

Read more: todaysportsnews.org

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *